Police Commission

The first meeting of the Darien Police Commission was held on May 28, 1925 at the office of Dr. Howard Stout Nielsen. At this meeting motions were entertained and passed resulting in Dr. Nielsen being appointed Chairman, Mr. Francis Holmes appointed secretary, and Chauncey Tyler appointed as the third commissioner of the Darien Police Commission. The commissioners immediately set about putting together the necessary budget to form the Darien Police Department. The Police Commission currently serves as the Town's Legal Traffic Authority and consists of three members who serve three year overlapping terms. The current members of the Commission are Kim Huffard, Kevin Cunningham and Brent Hayes.

Commissioner Kim Huffard

Kim Huffard has served on the Police Commission since April 2013. She graduated from Colgate University and earned an M.B.A. at The Tuck School at Dartmouth College. She has served on many Darien Town Boards including the YWCA, Opus for Person to Person and the Darien Library, where she was President and Co-Chair of the Capital Campaign for the New Darien Library. Commissioner Huffard is currently on the board of The Darien Foundation, a trustee emeritus of the Darien Library, and a realtor with William Pitt Sotheby’s International Realty. A lifelong Darien resident, she and her husband, Flip, have two children. Commissioner Huffard can be reached at: khuffard@darienct.gov

Commissioner Kevin M. Cunningham

Kevin Cunningham has served on the Police Commission since September 2019. Previously, he has served on the Planning and Zoning Commission (secretary), Advisory Board of Health (chair) as well as a member of the Emergency Services Advisory and Blight Review Boards. Commissioner Cunningham is a life-long resident of Darien, having attended Darien Public Schools, Boston University, Sacred Heart University and Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He has been involved in Emergency Services in various capacities for over 20 years and currently is the Director for Business Continuity and Crisis Management for a Silicon Valley technology firm. He and three generations of his family currently live in Darien. Commissioner Cunningham can be reached at: kcunningham@darienct.gov

Commissioner Brent Hayes

Bio coming soon!


The Darien Police Commission can be contacted via the Chief's Administrative Assistant, Jan Lesko, at (203) 662-5311.

Agendas and Minutes

Listing files in 'Police Commission Agendas & Minutes'